Introducing the Foundation Certificate in Cyber Security (FCCS) Learning Path

Although perceived as an IT issue, cyber security is, in fact, a subject relevant to all business units. The Foundation Certificate in Cyber Security (FCCS) is relevant to anyone who requires an understanding of cyber security management as well as those with an interest in cyber security, either as a potential career, or as an additional part of their general business knowledge; including members of cyber security management teams, IT managers, security and systems managers, information asset owners, and employees with legal compliance responsibilities.  

Cloud Academy’s new Foundation Certificate in Cyber Security (FCCS) Learning Path, developed with QA, acts as a foundation for more advanced managerial or technical qualifications and provides a thorough general understanding to enable businesses to ensure they are secure. The FCCS is designed to assess your understanding of industry-standard technology and platforms, in relation to its specific cyber governance, risk and assurance challenges. 

This learning path will take you back to computer basics to build your understanding of common technology platforms through to the network layer and on via virtualization technologies, cloud systems, telecoms, and modern communications. It then moves into the fundamentals of cyber security, focusing on common methods of attack, protective monitoring, encryption, and how digital footprints are often exploited.

Following this, you’re exposed to the world of cyber and legal governance, focusing on cyber law and the context in which security practitioners and organizations have to operate within. Finally, we look at the other types of security that are important to take into account and best practice for security architecture. To see if this course if for you, check out Cloud Academy’s Foundation Certificate in Cyber Security (FCCS) Introduction Course


Learning objectives

This learning path will prepare you for the QA Foundation Certificate in Cyber Security (FCCS) examination. The FCCS is also a GCHQ certified course and covers the following areas: 

  •   Computing Foundation, Data Storage & Memory 
  •   OSI Protocol Stack 
  •   TCP/IP 
  •   Network Architecture 
  •   Internet Primer 
  •   Network Security 
  •   Modern Communications 
  •   Virtualisation & Cloud Technologies 
  •   Protective Monitoring 
  •   Common Methods of Attack 
  •   Encryption 
  •   Cyber and the Legal Framework 
  •   Digital Footprints 
  •   Information Assurance landscape 
  •   Risk Management 
  •   Risk Treatment 
  •   Physical Security 
  •   Personnel Security 
  •   Service Assurance & Standards 
  •   Software Security Assurance 
  •   Secure Development Process 
  •   Threat Modelling 
  •   STRIDE Mitigation 
  •   Security Best Practices 
  •   Introduction to Security Architecture 

Foundation Certificate in Cyber Security (FCCS) learning path contents

Each course provides insight into the technical subject matter with the crucial security subtext. Knowledge check exercises are used throughout to make sure that learners are ready to take the QA FCCS examination when they choose to.  

Course introduction

We begin with an introduction to the course and what you can expect from the videos and quizzes in this learning path.  

Module 1 – Computing and Networking Fundamentals

  •   Introduction to Computing and networking fundamentals 
  •   Computing foundation, data storage and memory 
  •   Network computing 
  •   Network communications 
  •   Internet primer 
  •   Network security 
  •   Modern communications 
  •   Virtualization & cloud technologies  

Module 2 – Cyber Security Fundamentals

  •   Introduction to cyber security fundamentals 
  •   Common methods of attack 
  •   Protective monitoring 
  •   Encryption 
  •   Digital footprints (parts 1 and 2)  

Module 3 – Governance and Risk

  •   Introduction to governance and risk 
  •   Cyber and the legal framework 
  •   Information assurance 
  •   Risk management and risk treatment 
  •   Service assurance & standards 
  •   Software security assurance 
  •   Threat modeling and stride 

 Module 4 – Security  

  •       Introduction to Security 
  •       Physical security 
  •       Personnel security  
  •       Secure development process 
  •       Security best practice 
  •       Introduction to security architecture 

Preparing for the examination

This learning path will prepare you for the QA Foundation Certificate in Cyber Security (FCCS) examination. You can get all the information you need on your exam by contacting your QA account manager. 

Meet the trainer

Paul Andrews – Cyber Security Technical Consultant

Paul began his career in digital forensics in 2001, joining the Kent Police Computer Crime Unit. In his time with the unit, he dealt with investigations covering the full range of criminality, from fraud to murder, preparing hundreds of expert witness reports and presenting his evidence at Magistrates, Family and Crown Courts. During his time with Kent, Paul gained an MSc in Forensic Computing and CyberCrime Investigation from University College Dublin.

On leaving Kent Police, Paul worked in the private sector, carrying on his digital forensics work but also expanding into eDiscovery work. He also worked for a company that developed forensic software, carrying out Research and Development work as well as training other forensic practitioners in web-browser forensics. Prior to joining QA, Paul worked at the Bank of England as a forensic investigator. Whilst with the Bank, Paul was trained in malware analysis, ethical hacking and incident response, and earned qualifications as a Certified Malware Investigator, Certified Security Testing Associate – Ethical Hacker and GIAC Certified Incident Handler. To assist with the team’s malware analysis work, Paul learned how to program in VB.Net and created a number of utilities to assist with the de-obfuscation and decoding of malware code.

Next steps

To learn more about all-things security, visit our Library on Cloud Security Training.

  • cyber security

  • FCCS

  • Foundation Certificate in Cyber Security

Cloud Academy