1. Home
  2. Training Library
  3. Google Cloud Platform
  4. Courses
  5. Setting up a Google Cloud Platform Environment

Setting up Cloud Projects and Accounts

Contents

Setting up Cloud Projects and Accounts
Overview
Transcript
DifficultyBeginner
Duration38m
Students87
Ratings
5/5

Description

Google Cloud Platform (GCP) provides a suite of services that run on the same infrastructure that Google uses to host its own products, such as Google Search and YouTube. These services let you provision a variety of IT resources, such as virtual machines, storage, and networks.

GCP resources are grouped and deployed into projects. In this course, you will learn how to create and set up new GCP projects and how to give users permission to access project resources by assigning them to roles such as owner and editor.

Access to GCP services is provided via APIs that may be enabled on a per-project basis. You will learn how to enable APIs for a project as well as create budgets and configure monitoring for the resources and services allocated.

Learning Objectives

  • Create new cloud projects
  • Add users to projects and assign them to roles
  • Enable GCP APIs and services for a project
  • Provision Stackdriver accounts for monitoring project resources
  • Add billing accounts and create project budgets
  • Manage organization resources using the Cloud SDK

Intended Audience

  • People who would like to become GCP administrators
  • People studying for the Google Associate Cloud Engineer exam

Prerequisites

  • None

About the Author

Joseph Cava is a full­-stack web development veteran, fluent in all levels of the architecture, specializing in agile software development, product development, user experience, database design, testing, and documentation, focused on cloud deployments to Google Cloud Platform, Amazon Web Services, and Microsoft Azure.

Covered Topics

For the first section of this course, we will set up a cloud project and its associated accounts. In Google Cloud Platform, projects are a logical separation between software solutions. In simple terms, imagine an organization that operates two separate online products. These products would be broken into two separate projects. The organization will most likely run each of these products on separate budgets. 

The products may also leverage different GCP APIs and services as well as have different employees assigned to work on them. As such, Project Settings allow you to enable APIs and services, assign a billing account with different spending limits, add collaborators, and manage GCP resources. 

We will begin by creating our first project and assign users to pre-defined roles. Next, we will sign up for Cloud Identity and link to our first administrative user. Then, we will learn how to enable APIs for use in our project. Finally, we will provision a Stackdriver workspace to monitor our project resources. Let's start by creating a new cloud project. 

To create a new project, open the Manage Resources page by clicking the Navigation menu at the top-left of the Google Cloud Platform console, then click IAM and Admin, then Manage Resources. 

The resourcemanager.project.create permission is required to create a project. By default, this permission is added to the entire domain for a new organization or for free trial users. 

Let's click the Create Project button to start creating our project. Enter the project name. If you have more than one billing account, a billing account field will appear underneath the project name. Choose the billing account for your project. Also, if you have more than one organization or folders, browse to the parent organization or folder in the location box. Now click Create to create the project. 

You will need the Project ID to interact with your project. For example, when you deploy your project, you will need to configure the Project ID in local settings. The Project ID is found on the Project info card on the Dashboard. To get the Project ID, open the Dashboard by clicking on the Google Cloud Platform link, then click Home Select your project. The Project info card is typically on the top-left, unless it has been moved or hidden. If you have hidden your Project info card, you can unhide it by clicking the CUSTOMIZE link at the top-right of the page. 

On the Project info card, you will see project name, that's the name you gave to this project and the project ID, the identifier automatically generated by GCP. The Project ID must be globally unique across all GCP projects for all accounts. GCP uses the Project name and possibly a randomly generated number to ensure uniqueness. 

If your Project name is globally unique, it will be used as the Project ID, otherwise, GCP will append a random number to the Project name to create a globally unique Project ID. Some restricted words will not be included in the Project ID if used in the Project name. 

The project number is a globally unique number assigned by GCP. When you no longer have use for a project, you can delete it in the GCP console. A project is marked for deletion for 30 days before it is actually deleted. While the project is marked for deletion, it is unusable; however, its resources still count against your project quota until it is deleted. 

If a billing account is assigned to the project, the project may not be deleted until the current billing cycle ends. Within the 30-day shutdown period, you can restore the project. 

To shut down a project using the GCP Console, open the Project Settings page by clicking the Navigation menu, then click IAM and Admin, then click Settings or simply click Go to Project Settings at the bottom of the project info card. Select the Project to be deleted. Then click the shutdown link at the top of the page. Enter the Project ID. Then click the Shutdown link at the bottom of the shutdown dialog. 

A project can be restored before the end of the 30-day shutdown period. To restore a project, open the Manage Resources page by clicking on the Navigation menu, click IAM and Admin, then Manage resources. Click the Resources pending deletion link at the bottom of the page. Check the Projects to be restored. Click the Restore link at the top of the page. Then confirm that you wish to restore the projects by clicking the Restore link in the Restore projects dialog.